Face mask rules travellers must follow in some of Europe’s favourite holiday hotspots


In recent years Croatia has emerged as a holiday favourite for Britons thanks to its stunning beaches, crystal blue waters and abundance of sunshine.

Face mask regulations have been heightened in recent weeks in the country.

According to the FCO: “It is mandatory for passengers to wear face masks on public transport and taxis.

“From July 13, 2020, it is also a requirement to wear a face mask in shops and other commercial premises.”

In bars and restaurants face masks are not compulsory, but staff must wear protective gear.


Holidays to Cyprus have not yet been given the green-light by the Cypriot government despite making it on to all UK quarantine-free travel lists.

It is thought UK travellers will be welcomed back in August, though this is not yet confirmed.

Face masks are currently not a legal requirement in Cyprus, but they are recommended in public spaces.

Holidays abroad MAPPED: Where can Brits go on holiday now?  [GRAPHIC]Spain holidays: Murcia town forced into lockdown after COVID-19 surge [UPDATE]Flight secrets: How to avoid excess baggage charges with this trick [INSIGHT]


The rules regarding face masks vary from region to region in France, with Paris imposing some of the strictest guidelines.

Face masks are compulsory on public transport for anyone aged 11 years or older. This includes taxis.

Some shops are also asking customers to wear a face covering, as have certain restaurants, though they can be removed when eating and drinking.

Shop regulations are at the discretion of the store owner.

Visitors and locals found in breach of the face mask rule can face fines of up to €135 (£122).


In Germany, face mask rules are being imposed by each individual state, but across the nation the wearing of face coverings in public is mandatory.

The FCO states: “Wearing a face mask is required in certain public areas in all of Germany’s 16 states. The rules vary from state to state: check the latest local guidance.”

Though fines are likely for those who flout the rules, the actual amount varies from region to region.

Some areas also have stricter specifications for what constitutes an adequate face covering.


Measures regarding face masks vary depending on where you are in Spain.

Across the nation, they are required in indoor public spaces, but some regions call for their use at all times when in public.

Both tourists and locals will face a fine of up to €100 (£91) if they are caught in breach of regulations.

Rules apply not only to restaurants and bars but also to tourist hotspots including beaches and even in some hotels.

The FCO explains: “The use of face coverings is mandatory for anyone over the age of six years old on all forms of public transport in Spain and in many other indoor and outdoor public spaces. Specific rules on the use of face masks may vary from one region to the next, you should refer to local authorities for advice. You should carry a face mask with you and be prepared to wear it throughout your stay.”


Holidays are back on to Turkey, but visitors must obey the current face mask rules otherwise be slapped with a fine of around 900TL (approximately £105).

In some places, including certain tourist destinations, masks must be worn at all times when outside of the home.

In others, masks are only required when on public transport and in public spaces such as shops.

“The wearing of masks is obligatory throughout Turkey in crowded places and specifically in markets and supermarkets, hairdressers and barber shops,” explains the FCO.

“The wearing of masks is also compulsory on all public transport, including Metro, buses, taxis and ferries, and in some areas, masks must be worn when travelling in private vehicles with more than one person.

“In addition to the above, the wearing of face masks is mandatory at all times outside the home in the following provinces, which include major cities and some tourist areas: Adıyaman, Afyonkarahisar, Agri, Amasya, Ankara, Ardahan, Aydın, Balıkesir, Bartın, Batman, Bilecik, Bingöl, Bitlis, Bolu, Burdur, Bursa, Çanakkale, Denizli, Diyarbakır, Düzce, Elazığ, Erzurum, Eskişehir, Gaziantep, Giresun, Iğdır, Isparta, Istanbul, İzmir ,Kahramanmaraş, Karabük, Kayseri, Kırklareli, Kocaeli, Konya, Kütahya, Malatya, Mardin, Muğla, Muş, Nevşehir, Ordu, Osmaniye, Rize, Sakarya, Siirt, Sinop, Sivas, Şanlıurfa, Şırnak, Tokat, Tunceli, Uşak, Yalova, Yozgat and Zonguldak.”


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button