Tv & Show

Green list countries: All of the holiday destinations open on UK travel list

THE government has announced new updates to the travel traffic light system on Thursday.

Ibiza, Majorca and the Caribbean are among the locations that have been added to the green list.

🔵 Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest updates

Green list countries are the only ones allowed for holidays right now
Holidaymakers might soon be able to jet off to Malta or Madeira and avoid quarantining when they get back

Here is the full list of destinations which are not on the travel ban list.

Which countries are on the green list?

More holiday hotspots have been added to the list of quarantine-free destinations.

The changes come into effect at 4am on Wednesday 30 June.

All of the countries now on the green list are:

  • Anguila
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Balearic Islands
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Antartic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Iceland
  • Israel and Jerusalem
  • Maderia
  • Malta
  • Montserrat
  • New Zealand
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • Singapore
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

During the last review, Portugal was removed from the green list, just weeks after it was added.

Assessments are based on a range of factors, including the proportion of a population that has been vaccinated, rates of infection, emerging new variants, and access to reliable scientific data and genomic sequencing.

Only green countries don't require a quarantine
Only green countries don’t require a quarantine – though these current rules could be set to change

What are the green list travel rules?

Anyone coming back to Britain from a green list destination will need to have two Covid tests.

This includes a pre-arrival Covid test, and also a test on day two of returning to the UK.

Quarantine or additional testing is not needed upon return, unless the post-arrival test is positive.

Brits should still check the entry requirements of green list countries as the agreement for quarantine-free restrictions is not reciprocal.

While Australia and New Zealand are both on the list, they both remain closed to the UK while other destinations require a mandatory quarantine on arrival.

Only Gibraltar is open to Brits without restrictions.

Amber countries require a mandatory 10-day quarantine at home as well as a Covid test on day two and eight.

Red countries will have to isolate for 10-days at a quarantine hotel, costing £1,750 per person.

There is no guarantee more countries will be added to the list – and there is every chance some may be taken off.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button