India reigns supreme in Physical Disability World Cricket Series

India reigns supreme in Physical Disability World Cricket Series

Kunal Phanase’s 36 (35b, 3×4) and two for 15 helped India Physically Disabled beat host England Physically Disabled by 36 runs in the final of the T20 Physical Disability World Cricket Series, organised by England & Wales Cricket Board, at the Blackfinch New Road ground in Worcester.

The visitors scored 180 for seven in 20 overs after skipper Vikrant Keni won the toss and then restricted England to 144 for eight to seal the title.

The other Indian batsmen to come good were the hard-hitting Ravindra Sante (53, 34b, 2×4, 4×6), Keni (29, 27b) and Suganesh Mahindran 33 (11b, 4×4). While bowling , man-of-the-match Phanase got support from Sunny Goyat two for 23.

Earlier, India had earlier topped the six-team round-robin league stage to qualify directly for the final. The Indian team called itself Wadekar Warriors, in memory of former India captain Ajit Wadekar, who played an active role in All India Cricket Association for Physically Challenged (AICAPC), who organised the selection and preparation for the event.

The scores: India 180 for seven in 20 overs (Kunal Phanase 36, Vikrant Keni 29, Ravindra Sante 53, Suganesh Mahendran 33, L. O’Brien two for 35) bt England 144 for eight in 20 overs (A. Brown 44, C Flynn 28, Phanase two for 15, Sunny Goyat two for 23).

Share This


Wordpress (0)